Customer Reviews (More)

They steamed it, baked it, cooked it immediately or froze it for weeks.  They enjoyed the freshness, taste and texture - even their young children could tell it's different. That's aside from the convenience of home-delivered super-fresh fish that's ready-to-cook.  Read what customers say about their orders from The Sampan Catch.  Also check out their recipes and cooking tips.

More Customer Reviews 

Steamed Sea Bass Cantonese Style   Grilled Honey Snapper  

I received my order on Wednesday. Made a Steamed Sea Bass on Thursday and a Honey Grilled Snapper on Friday. The fish was very well gutted and cleaned, very fresh. Totally unlike those from the wet market.  There was no fishy taste at all!  Everyone at home loved both dishes."

- Ms Low, Ang Mo Kio, 1 July 2017.  Find out more about cooking the Grilled Honey Snapper.

Baked Sea Bass Fillets - The Sampan Catch     Baked Sea Bass Fillets - The Sampan Catch

"Simple and flavourful - Baked sea bass fillets with garlic butter and basil. Salt, pepper and lemon juice to taste."

- KJ, Marine Parade area, 6 May 2016
Snapper Fillet with Salsa

"You asked for some feedback. I would like to support your fantastic company. That's why I send you a picture of the filleted red snapper I prepared yesterday. It's red snapper fillet with a salsa of cherry tomatoes, red onions, green basil, lime juice and coconut cream.  The fish was extremely fresh and tasted wonderful."

- Bianca K., Orchard Road area, 6 Feb 2015.

     

"Had the steamed sea bass tonight. It was absolutely beautiful! My son said it is the best steamed fish he has ever eaten!  We are definitely presenting this for the reunion dinner!" 

- Priscilla N., Upper Thomson area, 25 Jan 2015.  She cooked half her sea bass with spicy soya bean sauce and steamed the other Cantonese style.  Her fish order was delivered a week earlier on 17 Jan 2015.

"Steamed half a mangrove jack last night. The meat was v tender n sweet!" 

- Priscilla N., Upper Thomson area, 19 Jan 2015.   She said the other half of the Mangrove Jack was baked and served with a mango salsa (see recipe) and "gone in no time"!

"I've bought super size garoupa for my parent. We love it!  Thanks for making the effort to deliver to us!"    

"My parents love the lower part of the fish...no time to snap a photo cos everyone was waiting for it!"

- Christine S., Punggol, 11 Dec 2014.
 

"Finally got to eat the snapper steamed. V fleshy and fresh taste. Other day we fried the grouper - fried with lemon grass and yellow ginger stuffed into fish."

- Mrs Lynette P., Bukit Timah area, 20 Nov 2014.

"We had the garoupa steamed. Flesh was v firm with a nice n diff texture from market ones. Taste of flesh was also pleasant n diff from market fish. My son loved it.

- Mrs Lynette P., Bukit Timah area, 14 Nov 2014.

 "The fish was extremely fresh, and the delivery service was easy to arrange.  We look forward to ordering from you again."  Malcolm, Holland Road area, 15 Nov 2014

- Malcolm, Holland Road area, 15 Nov 2014.

 "...so impressed when fish arrived in very clean and well packed condition.  We can't wait and cooked the sea bass tonight.  So fresh and delicious.  Usually sea bass from market got 'muddy taste' but not this one, and its texture was so good.  We just steamed it with ginger and spring onion, basic hong kong style...Thank you for your good service too."

- Eden C., Farrer Road area, 12 Nov 2014.

"We had the pearl grouper steamed Hong Kong style last night.  The flesh is so fresh and sweet.  My helper also commented that the fish is so well scaled and gutted.  We will definitely order regularly from you from now on."

- Maria C., Holland Road area, 21 Oct 2014.

"Another yummy grouper feed - baked this with tomatoes, olive oil, wine, capers, olives, garlic & herbs...Yummy cos fish soooo fresh & juicy!"

- Ms Ong, Holland Road area, 19 Oct 2014.  Her Baked Fish with Tomatoes and Olive Oil used fillets from the Pearl Grouper Extra-Large.

"We enjoyed the steamed seabass...flesh very tender, very fresh. Will try the snapper tmr..." "Last night, 1st tried baked whole fish.. It was yummy."

- Jesslyn Forday, Bukit Batok, 17 & 20 Oct 2014.  Check out her recipe for Baked Whole Snapper.

"The fish in Sampancatch is undoubtedly one of the freshest I have ever tasted.  The flesh is so thick and juicy!!  Even though I kept the fish for more than a week, there was not a tinge of fishy smell.  I had invited a friend over for dinner and she too detected the excellent quality and asked me immediately where I got my supply of fish from!  If you wish to cook a meal that impresses, you must get your fish from Sampancatch!"

- Priscilla Wong, Choa Chu Kang, 6 Sep 2014.

 

More Customer Reviews